Home » Primary Years

Primary Years


The IB Primary Years ProgrammeDSC_0088-2_800x549

Students in the 21st century are faced with the challenge of learning about an interconnected world where knowledge is constantly developing. The International Baccalaureate® (IB) Primary Years Programme prepares students to be active participants in a lifelong journey of learning.

What is the Primary Years Programme?
The IB Primary Years Programme, for students aged 3 to 12, focuses on the development of the whole child as an inquirer, both in the classroom and in the world outside.

The Written Curriculum
The most significant and distinctive feature of the IB Primary Years Programme are the six transdisciplinary themes.
These themes address issues that have meaning for, and are important to, all of us. The programme offers a balance between learning about or through the subject areas, and learning beyond them. The six themes of global significance create a transdisciplinary framework that allows students to “step up” beyond the confines of learning within subject areas.

The six transdisciplinary themes are as follows:
· Who we are
· Where we are in place and time
· How we express ourselves
· How the world works
· How we organize ourselves
· Sharing the planet

The Taught Curriculum

The six transdisciplinary themes help teachers to develop a programme of inquiry, in-depth investigations into important ideas, identified by teachers, and requiring a high level of involvement on the part of the students. These inquiries are substantial, in-depth and usually last for several weeks.

The Assessed Curriculum
Assessment is an important part of each unit of inquiry as it both enhances learning and provides opportunities for students to reflect on what they know, understand and can do. The teachers’ feedback to the students provides guidance and the tools and the incentives for them to become more competent, more skillful and better at understanding how to learn.

Please click here for more information.